Northwestern Regional Library

Apr 30th
Text size
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Regional Headquarters

E-mail Print PDF

111 North Front Street

Second Floor

Elkin, NC  28621 

Phone:  (336) 835-4894

Fax:  (336) 835-1356 


Sunday Closed
Monday 8:00am-5:00pm
Tuesday 8:00am-5:00pm
Wednesday 8:00am-5:00pm
Thursday 8:00am-5:00pm
Friday 8:00am-5:00pm
Saturday Closed


Joan Sherif Area Supervisor
Karen Howard Business Officer
Katie Billings Information Services
Library Technician
Tonya Triplett Information Services
Library Technician
Processing/Interlibrary Loan 
Sunnie Prevette Cataloger
Marvin Laxton Courier

NWRL History

On July 1, 1959, the Northwestern Regional Library was officially organized with three charter members:  Alleghany County Library in Sparta, Stokes County Library in Danbury, and Surry County Library in Dobson (which also served as Regional Headquarters).  Kathleen Gilleland served as the first Regional Director.  

Over the next several years, other libraries in the four county area joined the regional system.  In 1962 the libraries in Yadkinville, Jonesville, and Mount Airy became members.  In 1964 the Elkin Library joined.  In 1967 the King Library opened.  In 1970 the Walnut Cove Library and the Charles H. Stone Library in Pilot Mountain became members.  In 1986 the East Bend Library came on board, followed by the Lowgap Library in 1990 and, to complete our region, the Boonville Library in January 1999.  

In 1966 the Northwestern Regional Library contracted to move its headquarters to Elkin where it would share space in a proposed new facility.  Construction was completed in 1969, with the formal dedication held on April 20th, 1969.  


In 1976, Kathleen Gilleland retired after serving as Regional Director for seventeen years.  Charles Pipes succeeded her and headed the system until 1981.  Edward Sheary was Regional Director from 1981 until July 1983, and Linda Wright held the position from 1983 through October 1986.  Jessica Macphail joined the system from June 1987 through October 1992.  Nora Warren became Director from 1993 through July 1997, and Michael Sawyer served as Director from 1998 until 2003.  John Hedrick was named Director in February 2004.

Comments (0)
Last Updated ( Monday, 31 October 2016 10:42 )  

Catalog Search


Web Search

NC Jobs Link

Upcoming Events

Mon May 01 @ 6:00AM -
Triad Bloodhounds
Mount Airy
Mon May 01 @ 9:30AM - 10:30AM
Friends of the Library meeting
Mon May 01 @ 1:00PM - 05:00PM
Mount Airy
Mon May 01 @ 5:00PM - 06:00PM
Basic Spanish Class for adults
Mount Airy
Mon May 01 @ 6:30PM - 08:00PM
Dewey Decimal Players production for Children's Book Week
Tue May 02 @10:30AM -
Preschool Storytime
Mount Airy
Wed May 03 @10:30AM - 11:30AM
Pre-School storytimes for 2 and 3 year olds
Mount Airy
Wed May 03 @ 4:00PM - 05:00PM
Magic Tree House Book Club
Mount Airy
Thu May 04 @ 9:30AM - 10:00AM
Baby Storytime with Mrs. Rana
Mount Airy
Thu May 04 @10:30AM - 11:30AM
Pre-School storytimes for 4 and 5 year olds

NWRL Overdrive


NC Government Link

Juvenile eBooks

new_worm_copyLogin:  NWRL
Password:  ebooks 


Find your roots!


Translate This Page